Tuesday, March 2

No motive. Just want to share a certain point of view on how we "interpret" people around us. Heh.

Nerd
  • One whose IQ exceeds his weight.
  • An individual persecuted for his superior skills or intellect, most often by people who fear and envy him. 
  • A person who gains pleasure from amassing large quantities of knowledge about subjects often too detailed or complicated for most other people to be bothered with.
    Often mistaken for Geeks, who aspire to become nerds, yet lack the intelligence, and end up giving nerds a bad name due to their poor social skills.
    Non-nerds are often scared of nerds, due to their detailed knowledge, and therefore seemingly high levels of intelligence - and subsequently degenerate them as much as possible as often as possible.
    Nerds exist covertly within the fabric of society, often choosing to 'nerd it up' in private or in the company of fellow nerds. It is for this reason they are feared the most - unlike geeks, who are easily identified, nerds can only be found out when casual conversation reaches a subject that they like nerding.
Hipster
  • They listens to bands that you have never heard of. Has hairstyle that can only be described as "complicated." (Most likely achieved by a minimum of one week not washing it.) Probably tattooed. Maybe gay. Definitely cooler than you. Reads Black Book, Nylon, and the Styles section of the New York Times. Drinks Pabst Blue Ribbon. Often. Complains. Always denies being a hipster. Hates the word. Probably living off parents money - and spends a great deal of it to look like they don't have any. Has friends and/or self cut hair. Dyes it frequently (black, white-blond, etc. and until scalp bleeds). Has a closet full of clothing but usually wears same three things OVER AND OVER (most likely very tight black pants, scarf, and ironic tee-shirt). Chips off nail polish artfully after $50 manicure. Sleeps with everyone and talks about it at great volume in crowded coffee shops. Addicted to coffee, cigarettes (Parliaments, Kamel Reds, Lucky Strikes, etc.), and possibly cocaine. Claims to be in a band. Rehearsals consist of choosing outfits for next show and drinking PBR. Always on the list. Majors or majored in art, writing, or queer studies. Name-drops. May go by "Penny Lane," "Eleanor Rigby," etc. when drunk. On PBR. Which is usually.
Indie Kids
  • Kids between the age of 13-22 who are full of themselves and feel superior because their music isn't mainstream and who will bash anything that's mainstream, even if it's something good. They tend to be arrogant and rude, and they think that they are just the coolest shit ever. They only listen to indie music and are hypocrites because while they bash the scene kids, they too all fall into a similar style by wearing tight jeans, faded colors, and converse. They also like short, dark hair for girls and longer hair for boys. Indie-pop and indie are two majorly different things to them. Tell them that you like The Ting Tings or New Young Pony Club and they will laugh at you like the judgemental bastards that they are because that is not REAL indie you idiot. They are way too caught up in music and it's their entire life. They will only be friends with you if you like their music, otherwise, no matter how friendly or funny or charming you are, they will hate you simply because of your subjective taste. However, if you do manage to befriend an indie kid, it can be good because if they like you they will defend you to the death. They also can introduce you to lesser-known bands that will be forgotten in ten years and help you embrace the 'vintage' style of old plaid shirts and color palletes of gray and brown.
Emos
  • An "Emo" really is just a confused teenager. The entire Emo subculture is rooted in music. Emo is short for "emotional" or "emotional hardcore." This type of music came about in D.C. in the 80's (before most self-proclaimed emos were even born.) The type of people who listened to this music had common tastes in fashion, and like many other fashion eras, they all began dressing the same way. Now the term Emo is associated more with behavior and style than it is with music. Simply don a pair of Converse, a studded belt, head-to-toe black, and angled bangs, and voila--you're an Emo. Of course, there is the debate over real and wannabe Emos, but really they're all the same. They purposely choose to dress a certain way, act a certain way, listen to (or pretend to listen to) certain music, despite what their motives are. Whether their motives are sincere or superficial, all Emos have chosen to conform to a group of people they feel safe with. They would rather be called "weird" than be themselves and think for themselves. The ones that call themselves real Emos look and act (on the surface) like wannabe Emos. The only difference may be that they are truly admirers of the music scene, or that they truly have difficult family lives. Either way, they are all just this generation's subculture. Just like the Grunge group of the 90s or the Hippies of the 60s, the Emos have found their stereotypical shoe, their theme song, their color, and their attitude, and they will fight for it until death (or until they grow weary of cutting themselves). If they do cut themselves, you will know it. The entire point of cutting is to garner sympathy and attention. Never will you find an Emo who secretly cuts him or herself. Emos are really just searching for a place to call home. Every teenager has to find some group to associate with, lest they be left out. In this way, Emos are no different than the Chavs. The Chavs are just looking for a group to fit into as well. While the Chav group may be much more dim-witted and emotionally numb, they too are just a group of scared teenagers looking for a family. One day, both Emos and Chavs will look back on their silly little phases and laugh. They'll also look back on their ridiculous Urban Dictionary entires and wonder how they were able to graduate from high school with such poor grammar and spelling skills.
Yuppie
  • Informal for (Y)oung (U)rban (P)rofessional, or Yup, turned into yuppie in the 1980's. A term used to describe someone who is young, possibly just out of college, and who has a high-paying job and an affluent lifestyle. Can now be used to describe any rich person who is not modest about their financial status. Yuppiedom (yuppie-dum) is a term used to describe an involvement in being a yuppie.
  • A very arrogant well put together young urban professional who you more than likely will find wearing Gucci and Prada with a large bank account which they love to brag about. You can find them drinking Starbucks, living in a one bedroom apartment in a city where they will pay 1000-2000 a month for and spending another 3000 a month on their credit cards. They brag about their designer clothes and love to flaunt them , as well as their wealth. They look down upon anyone who isn't as wealthy or high status as they are. Men are likely to be found wearing designer suits, Gucci preferably with slicked back or well cut hair. The women will be wearing Prada/Gucci and Fendi. The most arrogant conceited f***s on the planet.
Snob
  • Anyone who thinks they are better than someone else based upon superficial factors.
  • Someone who claims to be of higher intelligence than others, understands the finer thing in life, and generally deems themself a higher being than most others; they often refer to the 'lesser beings' as peasant or philistines. In simple terms, snobs are wankers.
  • A snob is a person that acts as if he or she is superior than you and would not care to hurt your feelings by making you feel inferior with whatever excuse they can find such us wealth, fashion, taste, knowledge, you name it. They make you feel bad with yourself and are convinced that is a cool thing to do because they think you should learn what they are talking about because they get it better that you, they deserve it you don't, they belong you don't, they are smarter you don't, they are the last coca-cola in the desert. In short: if hells exists, it is full of snobs that will spend eternity snobing each other.
P/s: I love UrbanDictionary.com!!! XD

0 comments:

 
 
Copyright © ^__^
Blogger Theme by BloggerThemes Design by Diovo.com